Month: March 2008

  • Updates

    1. Amazingly, last night’s “hack chunks of my hair with blunt scissors to force myself to get my hair cut” strategy actually worked! This afternoon, after looking in the mirror, I realized I had to do something, so I went to Jean Louis David and got my hair cut. For the record, I did not go to Jean Louis David because I was fooled by the faux French name, it’s just the hair place that’s closest to my apartment…

      There was a bit of an awkward moment when the hairdresser asked me if I wanted to keep the same hair “shape”, and I had to explain that I did want my hair to be the same shape, except where I had slashed off chunks of hair. She was horrified and confused by this. This awkward conversation went on for a few minutes, before I realized that faux French hair girl spoke neither French nor English, and she was not really horrified, just confused by the use of a language that wasn’t Spanish. Then I said “medium, please”. She said “OK, medium?” I said, “yes, please”.

      The hair cut turned out great, which is to say, utterly unremarkable and boring.

    2. The infection in my left ear has cleared up, and I didn’t even have to van Gogh it off! It took about a week to stop hurting, and it made me hear a high-pitched buzz for a few days. I read somewhere that when you hear a high-pitched buzz, it means your hearing cells are dying. So maybe I’m going deaf?

      I’d also like to offer a special thanks to everybody who told me to cut off my ear while I was wracked by pain. I just hope that one day I can be there for you like you were there for me…

  • Crossing the Rubicon

    About ten minutes ago, I found a pair of scissors and lopped off a few inches of hair. My logic was that I needed a haircut – and this would force me to go get a haircut by Monday morning.

    Knowing me, I won’t motivate to get my hair cut by then. Since I don’t have a buzzer, I predict I will end up shaving my head at 4 AM on Sunday night.

    I am an idiot.