January 31, 2008

  • Steve Martin is a Wild and Crazy Guy

    I just read this article by Steve Martin about his career as a comedian that made me realize that how original his comedy was.

    What if there were no punch lines? What if there were no indicators?
    What if I created tension and never released it? What if I headed for a
    climax, but all I delivered was an anticlimax? What would the audience
    do with all that tension? Theoretically, it would have to come out
    sometime. But if I kept denying them the formality of a punch line, the
    audience would eventually pick their own place to laugh, essentially
    out of desperation. This type of laugh seemed stronger to me, as they
    would be laughing at something they chose, rather than being told exactly when to laugh.

    To test my idea, I went onstage and began: “I’d like to open up with
    sort of a ‘funny comedy bit.’ This has really been a big one for
    me…it’s the one that put me where I am today. I’m sure most of you
    will recognize the title when I mention it; it’s the “Nose on
    Microphone” routine [pause for imagined applause]. And it’s always
    funny, no matter how many times you see it.”

    I leaned in and placed my nose on the mike for a few long seconds.
    Then I stopped and took several bows, saying, “Thank you very much.”
    “That’s it?” they thought. Yes, that was it. The laugh came not then,
    but only after they realized I had already moved on to the next bit.

    It’s pretty amazing how his starting premise was different than every other comedian working during that time…

Comments (8)

  • I’ve enjoyed Steve’s comedy.  

  • He’s so brilliant.

  • He is one of my favorites. Can’t sleep just cruising thru…

  • Steve Martin is my hero!  My FMIL got me his book “Born Standing Up” for Christmas, YAYYYY

  • hi is ur name bob?

    well if it is my  name is brooke sooo please comment back

    i will subscirbe

    thanks

         *brooke*

  • hi bob its brooke again

    thank u for wishing me happy belated birthday!!

    comment back and i subscribed to u soo yeah

    brooke

  • Steve Martin is an amazingly funny man.  
    Monty Python rarely had punch lines, in fact a lot of their sketches ended with a kind of let-down. This might have been one of the reasons they were so funny. I have all the DVDs which I find hilarious but my American friends only seem to sort of ‘get’ it and my West Indian friends just crack open another Carib.

    (Examples:  Dead Parrot Sketch and Spam Skit)

  • hey bob this is brooke again just wondered why u havent been commenting me back!?!?!?!?!

    well yeah comment me!!!!

    Brooke Nicole!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *