September 27, 2008

  • What Kind of Idiot Are You, LOL?

    I hate to break it to you, but if you use “LOL”, you are probably an idiot. It’s possible you are using LOL ironically, and you are oh-so-witty, but let’s face it, the odds favor the idiocy theory.

    In fact, I recently realized that I categorize people into LOL stereotypes based on how they express laughter or amusement online:

    • Haha – This is what I use, because everything else is annoying. You probably choose your words carefully and try not to unduly annoy society at large as a courtesy. You may be evil, but you’re a nice evil. If I was looking to make new friends, I might even consider you. (P.S. I am not looking to make new friends.)

    • Heh – I used this a few years ago, but then I realized it made me seem aloof. So now I think Heh people are either aloof, or are socially clueless and don’t understand that “heh” makes them seem aloof.

      Most people find you annoying, but they tolerate you because your personality is too bland to hate.

    • hahahahahahah – Uncontrolled laughter is funny. Typing “hahahahahah” to represent uncontrolled laughter requires a lot of control, so it doesn’t work for me. I probably find you annoying.

      Maybe you just have a lot of Asian friends, but you are probably Asian. Either way, I probably don’t like you.

    • ahahahahahahahaha – OK, starting an extended haha with an “a” should represent “uncontrolled laughter” better, so I should prefer it more. But that’s like saying that since I like ice cream, I would like steak better if it had ice cream on it. Actually, that sounds pretty tasty. However, the tastiness of ice cream steak doesn’t change the fact that I don’t like you.
    • LOL – I pity you for your low IQ.
    • ROFL - I pity you for your low IQ and the fact that you roll on the floor like a dog.
    • ROFLMAO – I pity you for your low IQ, the fact that you roll on the floor like a dog, and the fact that you no longer have an ass.
    • ^__^ – Any smiley with an underscore in it means you are definitely East Asian, with a 10% chance that you’ve
      watched too much Naruto and are trying hard to fit into some
      Japanophile subculture. I definitely dislike you. The more underscores
      you use in your smileys, the more likely that I actively hate you. If
      you use three underscores, e.g. ^___^, I would probably enjoy beating you with a
      bat in a dark alley, if I happened to walk by a dark alley carrying a
      bat. If you use more than three underscores in your smileys, , e.g. ^______^, I would
      build a dark alley and whittle a bat to punish you for your evil ways.

    Well, we’ve learned a lot in this post. We’ve learned about the ways idiots express themselves, and we’ve learned about how I have unresolved anger issues. Haha.

    What kind of idiot are you, LOL?

Comments (76)

  • I’m a hurt idiot. 
    I tend to only haha, but I have been known to throw the occasional ^_^ around(though this doesn’t convey laughter from me. Also I’m not Asian of any kind.) It’s a really funny post, though.

    P.S.- I’m not hurt, I AM and idiot.

  • @willow_ann209 - To test my theories… how much anime have you watched in the last month?

  • @bob - all I watch is Inuyasha and Shin Chan(if those count). I haven’t seen Shin Chan in the last month, and I watch the episodes Inuyasha from Adult Swim.

  • @willow_ann209 - Sorry, anime on the Cartoon Network still counts as anime.

  • @bob - How am I to know these things? How does that help your theory? Are the ^_^ faces less awful if they have less underscores? I never use more than one. 

  • I use “hahaha.” What is that?

    Haha sounds fake to me. Like: “ha. ha.”
    hahahahahaha sounds psycho.

    But occasionally, I’ll go all out and type: ROFLMAOBITSFF
    (rolling on the floor laughing my ass off because it’s so fucking funny).

    I kid, but maybe I ought to start doing that.

  • @willow_ann209 - ^_^ is still pretty awful, but at least you can walk down a dark alley without fear! However, if you use o_0, please look both ways before crossing the street.

    @kimlxf - You’re right, “hahaha” is better than “hahahahahaha”. I would rank “hahaha” above “heh”, so you’re #2 on my list, not bad!

  • What happened to a single, simple “ha”?

  • lolz?
    i like laughing, why should i worry about what other people think of me because of how i laugh in IMs?

  • I say A’s in “aaaahaha” signifies the initial leaning back as the  joke is realized, just before the actual leaning forward laughter begins.  

  • i like to make laughing noises that read like the real sound… plus are appropriate to the occasion.  so haha would be a midsentence/end of comment/beginning of comment laugh.  hahaha would be a response to something funny.  kekeke would be a heckling laughter.  harharhar (what i actually say in real life) is a snarky laugh to follow a totally lame comment i made.  i think after this, you hate me.

  • @happyjen85 - Sorry, i hate “kekeke” too. Where does that come from?

  • @bob - Kekeke comes from Starcraft. Although developed by Americans, it was largely popularized by Asians, which means that you probably hate it.

    Sound like you have a lot of pent-up tension. I understand though; the internet is serious business.

    Screw all of those; “lulz”.

  • @jeff713zhao - I love Starcraft, it’s my favorite game of all time! I’ve never seen “kekeke” on Starcraft, although I haven’t played multiplayer SC for a few years.

  • @bob - You do? That’s great! I’m awful at it.

    Seriously, once Starcraft II comes out, people won’t even remember what Dota is

  • Wakka wakka wakka! 

  • Heyyy, I use wakka wakka wakka.
    I tend to say lol out of habit. I have always felt it made people feel more funny and I don’t like to hurt people’s feelings.
    haha is fake.
    I think i like LMAO the most.
    Yep.

  • Great Facts!!!God Bless!!!

  • hahahaha. LOL. lmao.
    (just kidding)

    this was funny. i tend to “haha” or “hahaha” a lot. :)

  • What about ^.^? Not an underscore in sight! :P

  • hmmm this is interesting
    i mean i always hv different feelings when ppl r usin diff kind of expressions
    but i wanna ask how are those “hahahahhaah”related to asian??
    u suppose asian r sort of annoying?
    i m not sure if it s a joke or there s discrimination

    well afterall
    i understand your dislikes yet i think this s a little bit too harsh..
    no matter how he/she laughs
    someone in the world feels happy n someone in the world shares his/her happiness to you
    it s nice.
    isn’t it? :)

  • What if you use a variety of those? And what about xD? And xDD (well, xD’s with multiple D’s). Definitely some commonly used smilies, er, at least among the people I talk to (heh… asians.). Good post. (=

  • I appreciate this, especially since I fucking hate LOL.

  • i am a LOLLER.. but i only LOL when i actually laugh out loud in person – so that the person on the receiving end (the LOLee) knows what ever I’m expressing a reaction to is laugh-worthy…

    i  also use haha which (for me) indicates some level of amusement but i may only have a stupid annoying (to you) kind of grin in RL.

    i recently LOTFRMAO (laughing on the floor rolling my ass off’ed) and i think it was the beer (which i love.. almost as much as (parens).

  • ya, i just used ‘haha’ in my most recent post. However, “teehee” is an acceptable regional substitute.

  • I’m definitely a “haha” and most of the time I don’t even open my lips much to allow the HAha. I just exhale haha in sort of an unenthusiastic manner. As if to say, my brain thinks you’re funny but my lungs don’t.

    I have a friend who says “LOL” and I feel sorry for him. We rag on him whenever we hear it. lol

  • um..”ahahahaha” is usually a typo for me…and i don’t mind if people who are bored use inane yardsticks to judge others…whatever gets you through the day, dear…

  • I do this ^_^ all the time, and I despise anime. 

  • @Carolina17 - where did you learn ^_^ from?

  • @bob - a friend of mine. I pick up all of her AIM mannerisms. 

  • I Like to ROFLAWLMMFBAO

  • @Carolina17 - and does she like anime?

  • @bob - I don’t think so. But who knows where she picked it up… she has some weird-ass friends at West Chester. :)

  • Indeed.  I am proud to say that I have never used LOL in all my years as a citizen of The Internet. It seemed dumb from the git-go.  I will ha ha ha, but I will not LOL.   Thanks for making it clear that LOL is sheer idiocy.

  • I use ^_^ (without the excess underscores) a lot, and I’m not Asian. I just can’t think of a better way to express when I smile like that. And I DO smile like that some of the time, usually when I’m particularly happy. The regular smiley is too meek and mild for that kind of feeling.

  • luvs_u needs to read this entry roflcopter! ^_____^ just kidding.

  • I do all. And this made me laugh. But I ain’t doing it here.

  • :p

  • ahahahahaha…the ROFLMAO is funny! & i dont care about your ice cream steak. sue me. =P

  • I use haha and you definitely do have anger issues. But so do I.  :)

  • Heh. Heh. (I don’t laugh like that. The entry just wasn’t funny. LOL)

  • i use hahaha, hehehe and occasionally teehee.  When I’m laughing really hard, i use hahahahahahha. If I thought what you said or what i said was stupid/silly, I’d use LOL… when I feel cute or silly, I’d use = D  or  = P………. <– Take that!

  • I am most definitely an LOL idiot. *sigh*  I have no excuse for myself, I like it.

  • I prefer haha over LOL any day… I feel too much of a hypocrite when I say “lol” and I’m not even laughing that loud.

    I like to refer to this in order to convey the best laugh as possible:
    http://www.drewheffron.com/files/gimgs/13_funnyometer.gif

  • This is seriously amazing.
    Love it.
    :)

  • I’ve used all of those on the internets, leaning more to hahaha when it’s really funny to the point I have to spell it out. LOL when it just made me smile but not that funny. All the Asian ways of laughing kekeke, wakakaka, huhuhu (or fufufufu) and the Spanish spelling too jajajaja! I use HAH a lot too.

    P.S.-You forgot to mention the bastardization LULZ/LOLZ

  • @jeff713zhao - What’s DOTA? … I hate it and all my friends who play it.

  • i use ahahaha, for mine is an evil laugh. sometimes i even add a bwa in front of it

  • I’ve always thought “LOL” was such a strange way of laughing. I mostly use “Haha”… but sometimes use “Muahahaha” to designate sinister/ mischievous laughter.

  • What about the annoying use of emoticons?  

  • i’m not a laughing idiot.  i’m just a bitch… so i never laugh. 

  • mines not on the list.

    i use MUAHAAHHAHA or hee hee…sometimes lol if im too lazy to type…

    ciao~

  • i say lol in real life o_O

  • I actually LOL’d in this entry. Go hate me and beat me in a dark alley.

  • -________________________-”

  • @juiCyer - did my post make you so mad that you decided to taunt me?

  • i surrendered to LOL finally after years and years of not typing it

     .. but I like you using haha
    it’s a Nelsonian classic ! 

  • What about LAWL?

    @Drakonskyr - LOL that’s awesome!

  • lol. no! I did it cuz i thought the face was funny

  • I usually use haha
    sometimes i might use ”jajaja” cuz’ it sounds funny

  • it’s more annoying when people don’t alternate ‘h’ and ‘a’ properly for ‘hahahahahahahahaha…’

    i tend to go with ‘haha’ or ‘XD’

  • LOL This is hilarious!

  • I go for an easy ‘ha’ when something’s funny. It’s pretty hard to make me laugh, online or otherwise, so yeah… a ‘ha’ will just about cover it. Unless it’s just incredibly funny where it’s too funny to laugh or say anything other than “that’s funny”… that’s my take anyway.

  • This may be a late reply and yes you may not ever read it. I willtake my chances at it though.
    I love you. ‘Haha’ is the ONLY way that I laugh or I don’t laugh at all. I will tell people that they made me smile or made me laugh.. I have used ‘heh’ to show that I was slightly sarcastic about being amused. 
    I tried ‘LOL’ .. I felt like one of those people that trip on nothing and look around to see if anybody saw it happen and pretend that something was on the ground and so they look down and then play it off still by walking away.. Yeah, I felt stupid like that..

    I’m subbing you. You have brains that are actually being used .
    Also because I think that your hot.
    No, I don’t mean that I know your temperature..

    But I can imagine

  • @z_stands_for - Thanks for the validation and for subbing me. Please note that I can not promise that my brains will continue to be used. 

  • totally all of the above, but you know this.

    till you decided to hate me!! jk hhaahaha lol

    lmao, etc <3

  • oh and i forgot

    ;_;

  • ooops, maybe most of the above.  Although I prefer not be ROFLMAO and I certainly don’t underscore.   I guess I’m still pretty much a loser!   V

  • Wait… what about “hehe”?

    1,324 haha, 30 heh, 233 hehe, 381 lol, 50 ROFLMAO, 2 ROFL

    in the 836 page 243,000 word convo log with my best friend. That’s our combined stats, but we’re probably pretty similar. Does this mean I’m roughly 6:1 awesome to loser? I’d say that’s pretty good! But more likely it’s 1000:1 nerd. O.o

    Oh, and keke is specific to koreans in korea, to the best of my knowledge… no idea why… everything else they say appears in symbols on my screen…

  • i use
     LOL
    cuhs haha
    takes too much time

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *