February 20, 2009

  • Asian Girls Gone Wild

    I just saw this picture in the New York Times of Secretary of State Hillary Clinton posing with South Korean school girls. I focused on Hillary’s face, but really, I was scanning the crowd around her and thinking, “wow, that’s amazing that all those Korean girls are posing for a picture and none of them are making a peace sign!

    Then I saw the girl in the top right throwing her peace sign. Then I saw the girl in the left going nuts with TWO peace signs. And then I saw the short girl two rows behind Hillary standing on her tippy toes, arm oustretched, throwing HER peace sign. All you can see of her face is her eyes, but you know she must be smiling…

    At this point, I’m starting to think that Asian girls throw peace signs while posing for pictures at a funeral.

Comments (46)

  • your layout suits you

  • @Natalia - You know you’re just jealous. Since I’m sure you want to copy me, my new theme is called “Emo Kids”. All it needs is a heart that’s bleeding and it would be the perfect emo theme.

    Oh wait, it DOES have a bleeding heart. Also, it’s pink. I win!

  • LMAO!  And yeah, love the pink too, er.. ::pukes::

  • What exactly is the motive behind the peace signs? lol

  • oh my god (see there i didnt use internet shorthand) your layout. wow just wow. hah hah hah, thats laughing, out loud, cause yes i really did.

    peace dawg (picture a smiley with their tongue sticking out here)

  • not just asian girls…  my daughter sent me a picture of herself in scrubs, working during clinicals at a hospital…and…throwing out a double peace sign.  latex gloved fingers and all. 

  • Love this layout! 

  • I feel like I should defend the people of my native homeland… but koreans are RIDICULOUS with their %$#!#@& peace signs.

    I’ve never peace-d any photo and I even refuse to peace other people at a genuine peace protest. ……jeepers.

  • Nice Bob…

    I came to say HAPPY BIRTHDAY!  I was told today is John’s birthday, and since I’m no dumby, I figure it’s your birthday too… 

    Yeah, I’m REAL bright that way.

    Happy Birthday.  Hope you had a great one!
    Ang

    Psst… I do know it’s spelled dumMy… really I do…

  • I was hoping that you would update soon,you make me laugh,every time I want to use LOL I think of you post on that and then I never know what to use now I use haha. Lame too.

    Hillary has a terrible picture smile.

    They say it is your birthday but I think they are pulling my leg,if not…Happy Birthday.

  • You… are probably right. Gotta love them anyway. 

  • @angi1972 - @seedsower - Who says it’s my birthday? I’m a Virgo.

  • My inbox had at least 50 messages saying it was John’s (that would include you too) Birthday. Didn’t you get any of them?

    I like the plaid layout.

  • @seedsower - Ah yes, I see those messages now. Maybe these people know more about my birthday than I do?

  • When is your birthday?  I know,I am to nosy!

  • @seedsower – I’m a Virgo, so the range is August 23rd – September 22nd. You’ll have to guess.

  • Somehow I knew that would be your answer,I will go with Sept 23.
    I am a Leo….Aug.

    BTW….
    Good Morning!

  • No wait…the 23rd can’t be right…. you said till Sept 22…I am a little slow in the morning…
    OK, I will go with  Sep 17,my wedding anniversary.

  • @seedsower - Sorry, that’s not it! As a consolation prize, I will tell you that I’m 34.

  • John told me the same thing…so now I know that you are both 34!
    You know how old I am?

    A lot older than you…

    I won’t make you guess,I am 46. I keep saying 47 though,I do not know why.

  • Bob, I have sent several times an e-mail about my Xanga site that is not working well! I cannot see daily footprints, friends cannot accept my friends invite and I seem not to receive theirs. Also the number of views on my weblog is not working.
    I assume there are some women in your organisation that do not like me but that should not be a reason to boycott my site!
    I am sorry that you have co-workers that are this not nice.
    Please make my site work again! Celine

  • @CelineFi - Hey, I just talked to Natalia who said she got your emails and replied to them nicely. She said that she verified that everything is working on your site. Nobody is boycotting your site? I’m not even sure how Xanga would boycott your site…

    Anyway, I think the issues you mentioned will “be solved” once you get to know people on Xanga, who will leave footprints on your site when they read your site, invite you to be friends, etc. Basically, if nobody on Xanga reads your site regularly, you will indeed have very few footprints and no friend invites, as you described…

    Good luck!

  • There have been more then a hundred people on my site last week and I am sure that someone tried to react on my invite.

    Indeed that is what Natalia was trying to make me believe too, that no one wants to be friends with me, that no one of the more then hundred people that stopped by has read and has reacted on my site. Do not tell me that making someone believe this is a nice thing to do, because in my opinion it is not!

    I am sorry, but there has not been one place in the world where I have been this unpopular as in Xanga, And I am very sure that it is not me!

    So again, please make it possible that my site is working well and in an honest way and that my friend Parthalon, who is my friend already for almost two years, “can” accept my friendship here in Xanga!

    Celine

  • @CelineFi - Weird! Just now, I was able to invite you to be friends with “bob”, and then while logged in as you, I was able to accept the friendship invite. “bob” now appears as your friend on your profile page: http://www.xanga.com/celinefi/profile/

    I took the liberty of doing this for testing purposes to see if I could reproduce this bug report… Please feel free to delete friendship with user “bob”.

    Re: your footprints, one issue may be that you have Signin Lock on? Are your visitors existing Xanga members who are signed in when viewing your site? The reason I ask is that Xanga doesn’t show footprints for visitors to sites with a Signin Lock unless those visitors are signed in (since they aren’t seeing anything).

    Let me know!

  • i read the the peace with the back of the hand outward is OFFENSIVE.

    no wonder foreigners hate me.  ha.  note-to-self.

  • You mean that a hundred Xanga people have visited my site, deliberately not wanting for me to know that they have read what I have written and deliberately wanting for me “not” to know that they have been on my site.

    The only people that know of me being in Xanga “are” Xanga ones!

    Yes, well, that is possible, that people on Xanga are not nice people! More then a hundred of them in one week!

    If Xanga people are all like this, then I do not think this is the right place for me to be, is it? I like honest and open people, people who are nice and proud of who they are. I do not like the sneaky ones who like to deceive others and who are playing games with people.

    Thank you for letting me know that Xanga is not the right organisation when it comes to honest and nice people. I will think carefully if I want to stay in Xanga. I think I do understand now “more” what Natalia is talking about. I guess she is used to not nice people then!

    I must be very glad that I did not pay for a membership!

    And as far as Parthalon is concerned, it is possible then, that someone is breaking in in my account to delete when someone has accepted my friendship. Thank you for letting me know that, because that was indeed exactly what I was wondering that “might could have” happened!

    Celine

  • @CelineFi - I looked into this more and Parthalon does already have a pending friend invite from you. Please tell him to click here (http://www.xanga.com/profile/edit/invites.aspx) and accept your friend invite. He needs to accept your friend invite before you’re “friends”.

    I also see footprints from both “bob” and Parthalon here: http://www.xanga.com/Private/FeedbackMain.aspx?uni-89-category=datafor&uni-89-section=footprints. Do you see that?

    I’m trying to help you. It bums me out that you tell me that I’m not nice when I’m trying to help you here…

  • Bob,

    Bob, I am not telling “you” that “you” are not a nice person! I think you are one of the kindest persons I have met on the internet so far. And thank you for taking me seriously because a lot of people seem not to!  

    And yes, Bob, this is the first time that I can see this. I have never seen it like this before! And when you look at a few days back, when all these people were on my site, you will see that no one has been there, not even Natalia! So someone is erasing my footprints, because she “has” been there! Check her e-mails!

    I will write to Parthalon now! Please find the following note:

    Parthalon, would you please try to accept my friendship once more! Bob is assuring me that it is possible for you to do so and that no one is deleting your acceptance before I can see it!

    Celine

     

  • hi dear , i will be lucky if i get your friendship.

    please add me to your friends list please.

    also may please tell me how to add google adsense on this site.

    Looking for your kind reply.

    withlove r.k.sundararajan. rksr3333@yahoo.com

  • I am really enjoying the chick in the second row, at left, sticking out her tongue, probably in mid conversation.

    RYC: I think that having all the subs on one page would be a start.  I think being able to choose which way they are listed ( alphabetically, by added date, by their most recent post to know if they have just disappeared) would be a step up. If you could look someone up (like on facebook) by just typing in a few letters of their pan name, that would be the ideal.

  • Man Xanga is soooo cool!

    And all the girls look the same in that picture.

  • real men don’t have a problem with using pink. =) bob you rock

    vaporizer

  • your layout is fine =)

  • lol nice pic

  • Peace sign is universal – there is nothing so Asian about them. It’s like the bow, the handshake and the smile. Peace sign means “I am harmless and weaponless. And I come in peace.”

  • i like your layout bob

  • Here’s another one:

    /  ^_^  /

  • Uh.. why would there be pictures at a funeral?

    ooo.. a dead person.. *takes out camera*

  • i love this. ok i’ve bene guilty of flashing the peace sign dammit.

  • also, as you can see, this is what many korean girls look like BEFORE surgery heehee

  • You’re sick… I’m telling my mother!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *